Through my Eyes

By Kelso

Two Osprey are Better than One!

First off, thanks so much for the stars & favs that sent my preening heron from August 23 into the Favourites! That is so exciting!

Oh boy oh boy oh boy - I love this 150-500 lens. I was so far away from this osprey nest that I never could have gotten this shot without it. For those of you who warned me that I would have a hard time giving the lens back after the weekend, you are SO right.

I had to get used to using the tripod and the weight of the lens. It was not easy to set it up quickly to take a shot in a hurry. However, if you can set the tripod up in an area with activity, you can swivel the camera and drop it into the vertical position pretty fast.

The other thing I found out is that if you carry a tripod and have a long lens, people assume you are a professional photographer. Can I tell you how many people asked me to take their photo with their iPhone, Android, etc.?

This has been a wonderful experiment with the lens. Already planning tomorrow's expedition. Thanks for taking this journey with me. Hope you like this blip!

They are really fierce looking close up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.