[blowfish]

By blowfish

dez

Dez has been selling candy bars in this neighborhood for years, according to my friend Lisa who has worked in bars and restaurants around here for some time. I remember seeing him for the first time at Fred's about two years ago. Dez lives in an assisted living facility nearby and gets to keep a portion of his sales ($2 of every $5 he told us). His forehead is riddled with large scars and he walks with a terrible limp. But he's happy, he's positive. I could tell he was hesitant to talk with me, but he warmed up fairly quickly when I introduced myself (strange how far that goes, eh, just giving someone your name...) and he made a joke about my name which we both found funny. I see him around all the time, but tonight finally worked out where I could get his portrait--Leah and I were walking back from the Modern and he came around the corner from behind the new Salsa Limon. But I hope to get to show him his picture someday, and I hope that he likes it. While I only got about five or six shots, by the end he was really hamming it up for the camera. I hope he sells a lot of bars tonight (we only had two bucks, so it was his--we didn't need the chocolate anyways).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.