Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Day 9 - Liquifying Haematoma

Feel like I've taken a bit of a step back today - I have stopped taking the soluble paracetamol after I realised that they were stopping me from sleeping at night. As soon as I take them, I immediately have what could best be described as anxiety/adrenalin rush. Not what you need before bed!

As it goes, it turns out that my jaw is not that painful, so I'm now pain killer free!

The downer today is that for the last few days, one of the wounds in my mouth has been oozing blood. Only a little, but constantly. After stuffing some gauze in my mouth overnight (highly flattering!), the bleeding didn't stop. Cue a trip a&e... :(

Turns out I have a Liquifying Haematoma - in layments terms, a big blood clot which has started to break down by turning back to a liquid, and seeping through the stitches. On its own, it's not too bad, but could be a target for infection. So I'm on antibiotics for the next few days.

Quite relieved there won't be any more stitches involved though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.