2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Roseberry Topping

We arranged to meet up with my sister- and brother-in-law at the bottom of Roseberry Topping. I used to be dragged taken here regularly as a child when I lived close by. It always used to be a struggle to the top as I used to hate scrambling and climbing and was afraid of heights. One of my childhood memories is of the smell of the wild garlic in the woods round Roseberry Topping in the spring time.

It proved to be a lot less daunting climb as an adult (though I think the paths are much better too). The four of us (plus Bella the dog) made it easily to the top and found a sheltered spot to sit at the top. We caught up on things for a while, admired the view and watched the butterflies flitting around at the top.

We tried to get lunch in a pub nearby but had missed food by about 5 minutes (and rules is rules!). Instead we headed for Great Ayton and bought sandwiches, fruit and cookies from the local shop and had an impromptu picnic on the village green. Great to catch up on things and find out more about the upcoming wedding next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.