Enzo the Baker

By Enzo

Despite

my best efforts to sort this watch out - I could live without the numbers on the face - when I attempted to open the back to change the battery (it's solar charged, and radio controlled - the ideal off-grid watch), the back fell apart. Why would you have a carefully engineered steel collar - surrounding a plastic disc which perhaps has the same glue as the numbers on the face ? Leaving it in the sun may not have been a good idea - but then solar charging kit perhaps benefits from high temperature glues.

To my delight, I have now fixed the spring bar on another radio controlled watch - so won't have to worry about checking it against the pips, and remembering to include the offset for the DAB processing latency.

Then again, I also have a portable sundial which tells me more or less when it's lunchtime - on fine days. My stomach is quite well attuned to this too - and works just as well on cloudy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.