Enzo the Baker

By Enzo

A Favourite

phrase in German - sonorous alliteration, expressing a commitment to neighbourly cooperation in a utilitarian manner which would make John Stuart Mill proud. It translates as Volunteer Firefighters.

Quite why this magnificent VW Bully van sports their name, and what it was doing in Worcestershire this afternoon while the Malvern Joggers were enjoying a Pubathon, I have no idea. It drove past us when we were at the Foley Arms (pub #2) , and I saw it in a layby a long while later as we jogged up to The Railway Inn (pub #6).

Neviges is, I believe, on the Rhine-Ruhr S Bahn which goes to Wuppertal. My admiration for the elevated railway there has been known to cause close family members to become untypically impatient and intolerant. (It seems one of the first of very accidents involved an elephant, later named Tuffi, which of course is the Italian for 'diver' ...)

As I'm contemplating a trip to Cologne next March, I suddenly see the chance of connections through to Wuppertal, pausing for a beer at Neviges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.