LindaCh

By LindaCh

Lovely Lilac

I am feeling frustrated and worried today.

Trying to chat with and help my dad is like trying to make parental suggestions to a stroppy 12 year old.
Whatever I suggest he feels compelled to argue against it - I have tried being calm and explaining his options with their relevant pros and cons, but he just sets his jaw and decides this is a battle zone - not an opportunity to move forward with plans and ideas that will make his life more comfortable and more pleasurable. He can be nasty and personal and its difficult not to rise to this and to keep the focus on the important stuff Grrrrrrr!
When my Boys were twelve years old, once I had talked things through with them it was then just a case of ' I am the parent, I am responsible for you and your safety and wellbeing so this is the way it is going to be!'
I was a happy and effective single mum and my boys were great, making life so much easier and so much more fun than it was supposed to be with two teenage sons, so I was very lucky, but this situation is driving me potty!

This blip is an attempt to sooth my frazzled feelings ahhhh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.