2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Decision time

Sometimes we have to make tough decisions in life.

Sometimes we don't like the decision we make, even when it is the right one.

I'll get back to that.

My blip was going to be something to do with the half marathon I attended this morning.

However, when I saw the beauty of these gladioli that Mrs. P grew from bulbs this summer I couldn't resist blipping them. I adore the colours and hope you like them too.

They certainly cheered me up after this morning.

In beautiful sunshine with a great atmosphere I took my place in the Fleetwood Half Marathon.
A comfortable trot round this course would give me the confidence to push on with the marathon training for October.

However, after 3 miles I knew it wasn't going to be my day and that a tough decision had to follow.

I called it a day after the first lap, settled for the fact I had enjoyed the 7 miles I had done, and then hated the next decision.

I won't be fit enough to run a hilly marathon on October the 6th. It's not fair on me or my family to chase something that realistically can't happen. It is most unfair on the organisers for me to put my safety and their reputation in jeopardy.

I hate the decision I've made. I know it's the right one but I still hate it.
But tough people are able to make tough decisions, even ones they don't like.

Falling off my bike in March; focussing on the Machester to Blackpool Bike ride and not running, and spending lots of time driving up and down the motorway recently, have all contributed to the decision that had to be made.

I'll get more from my running now I'm not chasing an impossible target.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.