Bye Bye Kale

The Cabbage Whites have been circling for a long while. Their young at all stages are munching their way through it progressively. Another few days and there won't be much left for me but, strangely, I don't mind. I don't eat it that often at this time of year. I eat more salad or cook the beetroot leaves or the chard which taste more summery. The Kale will disappear but soon the caterpillars will all have transformed and it will grow leaves for me to crop through the early winter and again in the spring.

It seems pointless to complain about their stealing my food when there is so much else in abundance. Next year the butterflies will flutter around decorating my garden, they'll mate, lay eggs and a new generation will steal my food. It's a small sacrifice to pay for their beauty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.