Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

EMB*

*Emergency Music Blip

I was recording a couple of performances at our master class tonight and remembered I hadn't taken any photos today, so I snapped a quick photo with my iPad of one of our amazing accompanists, Anne Young. I've had the privilege of working with her this term during my weekly coaching sessions.

Anne has more musical knowledge and talent in her pinkie finger than most people have in their whole bodies. She comes up with the most unique metaphors to get her point across; sometimes I just nod my head and pretend I know what this brilliant woman is talking about. I've learned so much from her in a quick few months. Often I'll take home a tidbit of feedback from her and mull it over for a couple of weeks - I always remember her comments, even though she is a bit harsher in her delivery than most of our faculty.

Laurie commented on Anne's hands last week when she accompanied at our recital - "they seemed to just float on the keys" -- even through a very complex Schubert piece. She does make it look easy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.