middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Hello Blippers

I came across the world of blip through a friend of Sam (who's fine photography skills can be appreciated at blipfoto.com/samsticks). He's a proper photographer and has been a happy snapper for years, I on the other hand am about as novice a snapper as you can get. That was part of the appeal of blip to me, something to motivate me learn the skills of a photographer and force me to use them everyday. The other part of the appeal is the idea of a photo diary. We all know how fast life can go, how at some point of just about every year we'll say "Gees this year's gone quick!" and it does. That's why I'm excited to start blipping, so all the great moments in our lives are recorded, and perhaps more importantly the average times are captured and chronicled too. Because those moments are our lives and deserve to be remembered. With the added challenge that on those days you stop, look around, and find something great to take a photo of.

For my first blip I've taken a photo of one of my neighbours ghost gums (Corymbia dallachiana). I always planned to have this as my first blip because I find these trees so striking and strangely beautiful in a very Australian way. My first lesson came when I pointed my camera, snapped, and looked at the result to find it wasn't the amazing shot I expected it to be, and kind of just looked like a tree. I played around with it a bit until I finally climbed more into the tree and looked up, getting the shot you see above. It was at this point that the neighbour, who I've never met before, came out of their house and busted me, much to her confusion.

I feel more like a photographer already

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.