Here's Johnny!

The delightful Mr Johnny Kalsi - founder of the Dhol Foundation snapped as he and four of his drummers delivered a dhol workshop at Folk East Festival.

I got free entry on the Sunday as I was performing with the Norwich Ukulele Society at 11am (more of which in a moment) and although there were several bands I wanted to see I was a bit disappointed that the Dhol Foundation Big Band were performing on Saturday night and I was convinced that Mr K would have left the site by Sunday morning.

Roland drove me and my chum and fellow ukester Neil to the festival and on arrival at the gate he said: 'I have two artistes in this car for you. Where would you like them?' Giggles all round. So, we then picked up our wristbands and programmes and I immediately squealed like a hamster when I saw that at 12.30 Johnny Kalsi would be delivering a workshop!!!! I completely lost my mind for a moment and texted Folkiebooknerd, as she is also a big fan of Mr K. She must have thought I'd gone mad. The workshop was BRILLIANT. He was funny, his colleagues were lovely, he gave us a bit of his family history (brought up in Leeds! Right next door to my home town) and after several people, in groups of five, had had a go on the drums we were treated to a short performance by the five drummers.

Other bands I saw were Penguin Cafe, Karin Polwart and The Darling Coreys - one of them is an occasional player with the ukulele society.

Oh yeah, our performance. Erm. We were a bit worried that there might not have been an audience as the space we were performing on was in a beautifully decorated tent up a little wooded track. We needn't have worried. Just over 100 (yes, 100) people packed the tent. They clapped. They cheered. They sang. They chose songs from a list that had been prepared and we played them. We were given beer! We started with San Francisco Bay Blues and ended with God Gave Rock 'n Roll to You. It was fabulous! I think there were 12 of us.

It was one of those 'perfect' days. My head is now full of rather lovely ear-worms.

And exactly two years to the day since I played my first chords, one drunken evening with my friend Neil. Thank you Neil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.