Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Swaffham Free Festival

A pleasant few hours were spent in Swaffham, a little way from Norwich, at their second annual Free Festival. It's a two-day event, Saturday and Sunday, and very civilised. Today the music took place on the Campinglands (more like a village green, camping NOT allowed) and tomorrow the action is in the Market Place. From 2pm to 8pm both days.

As we were leaving we saw the vicar nipping over from the church for a bit of a bop.

We met up with our mate Ken, who introduced me to Anton - the chap on the left of this picture - as Anton wanted someone to take photos of him when he was performing. Anton wanted me to use his camera but for some reason the images I took using that camera were really dark so I quickly switched to using mine and got some really nice shots. Hope Anton likes them.

Headlining today was Robb Johnson, a folky-type-protest singer. I've heard a lot of his songs done by other people but this was the first time I've seen him. He was great. And after he finished his set anyone and everyone was invited to join him on his gazebo platform (I hesitate to use the term stage) for a bit of a jam session.

There were only about 50 or so people in the audience and not everyone was a singer or musician so there was no chance of a stampede.

I stuck to taking photos as I am saving myself for tomorrow's gig at Folk East.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.