Bob20

By Bob20

Higgar tor.

Thank you for lifting my Hover Fly to top spot in the spotlight today. I don’t take many macro shots, so it is pleasing to see it received so well, I may try another:))

Back to my more usual Derbyshire scene. This morning I drove into Sheffield to son John’s. He wanted me to rectify some tiling following a house rewire. I stopped on my way there to take this shot.

Higgar tor dominates the skyline just on the outskirts of Sheffield to the South West. It is a gritstone tor overlooking the Burbage Valley and the iron age hill fort of Carl Wark to the southeast. The tor stands to the south west of Sheffield, just within the city boundary, about 200 metres east of the border with Derbyshire, which runs along the nearby road to Ringinglow. The village of Hathersage is approximately 2 kilometres to the west.

I don’t think my journal would be complete without this famous landmark in it, especially with the beautiful heather at its best.

It is worth a look LARGE.

It has been a beautiful Bank holiday Monday here, I trust it has been for you wherever you are. Thanks again for visiting and hopefully enjoying my journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.