Tongue out

Tongue out, a bit rude I thought as I only needed a blip but he was just exhausted in the late afternoon! I have to say that I've never seen anything at all like this before today - tongue out feeding yes but not just hanging out!

On the lane with both dogs on leads I saw this wasp on the neighbour's hedge. Tricky really - the leads wouldn't stretch that far with the camera too. Didn't think it would be wise to take a shot couple of hundred shots with 2 dogs hanging by the neck in mid-air on leads on my wrist and more to the point they would have been blurred :)

What I found quite interesting here was his tongue sticking out which I'd mistaken for an insect. On the initial first glance I thought he was having supper but couldn't see how he'd caught anything as I'd been watching for a while. I've shot thousands of wasp mouthparts recently and could now on the computer identify what was wasp and what wasn't! It was all him and I really do think that in the heat of the direct sunshine he was slowed down, tired and certainly didn't want his photo taken as you can see.

Totally unfazed by my lens but not wanting the paparazzi taking any sly shots in this condition! Tongue just hanging! Leg up to block the shot I could hear him saying, 'Oh clear off and just go away!' or words to that effect! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.