Gifts of Grace

By grace

Beauty and entanglement

This swan got itself tangled up in something - fishing line I suspect. Many attempts to fly free (it couldn't take off) and many, many frantic, flapping dives interrupted my basking on likely the last hot day this year.

I tend towards non-intervention, leaving nature to take it's course. But today I felt complicit in its plight, my species had likely contributed to the problem. I'm influenced too by the tender hearts on Blip. So for once I called out the animal rescue folks and waited for them to come.

The swan paddled off, settled in a sheltered spot, preened itself vigorously. I followed along to see if I could get a helpful shot of the entanglement. It had managed to free itself. This is its final bit of preening of the back of its head before it sailed off out of sight.

The rescue people were very nice when I cancelled the call-out. I'm curious to see if I'll be more interventionist in future.

Quite sweet bigga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.