Dancersend

By Dancersend

Beetle Bonk Holiday

I rushed to judgement yesterday about the end of summer. Today, the numbers of butterfly species seen on my walk was more healthy (17) and I got some good photos. However, this was the photo I couldn't resist. These two beetles enjoying themselves must be members of the massive Chrysomelidae family, but I can't get even close to a genus at the moment. I will have to sound out my local beetle expert, who will no doubt remind me, quite rightly, that beetles can seldom be identified accurately from photos. Looking through several web collections of photos it is remarkable just how many have been caught in flagrante - I suppose it slows them up, distracts them and makes them twice the normal size. Simple explanation really.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.