Dancersend

By Dancersend

My early criminal past

Had a home-based day today, part of which involved checking out the contents of boxes in the garage. I came across this wonderful old box with my list of bird eggs. 50+ years ago this is what all little boys in the depths of the country would be doing, along with stamp and cigarette card collecting, and keeping lists of all the big lorries that climbed the steep hill through the village. I think the box, with a few eggs, was given by an uncle and I added a few more. I must have been 7 or 8 and it was one of a whole series of 'normal' connections with the countryside. Did I really have a Ptarmigan, though, or was this wishful thinking? Are there any eggs or fragments left under the layers of cotton wool? Of course not - that would be illegal.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.