Savor

By savor

Dog Shopping with the Police? or...Weekend in DC

This weekend I spent in D.C. with a girlfriend. I hadn't planned on it. I just did. She bought a single family home in an up and coming neighborhood of D.C. If you know anything about D.C. and you've been following the housing crisis..that's saying a whole lot. I would've taken pictures of her home...but I didn't think about it until AFTER my battery died.

Being a country girl with a city heart (I grew up in Dallas, TX), I love everything about the city .. the noise, the hustle and bustle, the excitement, the artsy areas, the demographic dynamics, the change in topography, the unknown...except...I couldn't live there. If I did...I would definitely have to be able to afford a country retreat with trees and space and somewhere to think. Technically, I live in a suburb of DC which is still city to me. It's still congested but there's less character here than in the HEART of the city.

What I find every time I visit the city...is that I always have to redefine my definitions of things.
Attacked in the City: A Bijon Frise attacked me inside my girlfriend's house. She claims it never happened. I presented this picture as proof. Inadmissible in court she tells. "Aren't you a little biased?" I replied. If only I could have grabbed my camera quick enough to change the settings to get a better photo. I thought this would've been in the bag. But no. According to her...the "blur" in the photo looks nothing like her Bijon, Tiffany, biting and tugging frantically at the pair of jeans I was still wearing at the time. She's the ONLY Bijon in the house. In fact, she's the only one on her block. The dog attacked me. I swear. Why would I lie.

Law Enforcement in the City: Apparently, horses are still the rave.

Shopping in the City: Everyone likes choices when they shop.

What I learned: Take my extra battery even if I don't plan to stay.

[b]What I savor: [/b]The ability to redefine...everything doesn't have to be what it seems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.