I got soul but I'm not a soldier

I took the girls to Birdoswald Roman Fort today. Grace had said ages ago that she really wanted to dress up as a Roman soldier and they had a Roman Soldier School on at Birdoswald today so her wish came true. She's obviously inherited my love of history (it's what I studied at uni and what I used to teach). The kids had a talk about life in the roman army then got dressed up and had some drills. Ophelia opted out of the drills as it started midway through her snack time. You do not interrupt Ophelia when she is eating. That is what she has inherited from me. There were also crafts and games to do. Afterwards we had a look through the museum. I was really impressed with Grace's ability to concentrate on the exhibits and her obvious interest. Ophi is still a bit young I think. She always looks for cafes and sweet shops when we go anywhere. Again she probably gets that from me...
Arwen is feeling much better today thankfully. She was just a bit too hot most the day. She liked the museum though. It was cooler in there and she had a good amble about. She was fascinated by the roman food display and couldn't be separated from a plastic carrot. I think perhaps she will take after me too. On the way out, Ophelia insisted we had a look around the fort ruins. The girls had a run around and liked seeing what was left of the Roman Wall. It's a very well preserved section there. We're lucky to live within a half hour of many Roman sites. I joined English Heritage today so hopefully we will get to see lots of them together in the future.
238/365 completed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.