Fulham Palace

I went to Hammersmith today and was going to walk along the river to Chiswick House again, but realised that I'd never walked along the Thames Path in the other direction, heading towards Putney...so decided to do so!

I was very glad I did, as I discovered Fulham Palace, which. I must admit, didn't even know existed! It had lovely grounds, sculptures and a beautiful walled garden. I stayed there for ages, sitting on a bench reading a book in the hot sunshine. I'd been to Putney before, but had no idea it was just behind the bridge. I'll definitely return another day!

A bit of history here...
Fulham Palace, at one time the main residence of the Bishop of London, is of medieval origin. It was the country home of the Bishops of London from at least 11th century until 1975, when it was vacated

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.