The Crime Scene

As I only have a few days left on my unlimited museum entry card I visited the Prinsenhof in Delft to shoot this historical place.

Who, What and Why...

William I, Prince of Orange (24 April 1533 – 10 July 1584) also called 'the Father of the Fatherlands' was the main leader of the Dutch revolt against the Spanish that set off the Eighty Year war and resulted in the formal independence of the United Provinces - now the Netherlands - in 1648. The Spanish king declared him an outlaw in 1580 after which he was assassinated by Balthasar Gérard (also written as "Gerardts") in Delft four years later (1584).

This is seen as the first political assassination with handguns from close range ever.

This is the exact spot where it happened on july 10th 1584 and the holes in the wall are the original bullet holes.

Tomorrow I'll be going to visit another museum and have high expectations....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.