Shadows on the Wall

Today I went to the Museum of all Museums in Holland... The Rijksmuseum.

It's where the most important paintings of Rembrandt are for instance.

But I didn't just go there for the paintings, I've never ever been there and the past TEN years nobody could as it took that long to renovate the enormous building!

So I also went there to see the architecture and the revolutionary color scheme on the walls. They are all in different middle and dark shades of grey to let the work stand out even more.

I liked the darker grey walls as indeed the paintings and objects really stand out, but there is also a down side... As a photographer you are not allowed to flash and the dark walls absorb so much light that upgrading the iso values is the only way to nice handheld - but grainy - photo's.

I chose for this shot from the 284 shots I took, because I liked the shadows going in opposite directions.

(and the guys trousers ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.