ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

The Old Gate

While wandering tonight I came across an old gate close to home that I never noticed before…. I travel for hours to find old gates and cottages……“Can’t see the wood for the trees” and all those types of quotes sprung to mind… I pulled into the yard and took a couple of photos for a friend who loves old gates……The lighting was wrong, there was a traffic cone in the way, the clouds were not defined……blah blah blah…. Then it came to me I that I had just purchased a coffee in a small gem of a shop with Vivian Greene’s quote “Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...It's about learning to dance in the rain.” painted on the wall. And as I looked at it I thought of the same friend who told me last night that she was apprehensive about her day today on an outing with her children and a few friends…and I wondered would this be good advice to her….. And it is…if she understands that every day spent with friends and family is precious……no matter ….. nothing …. just “no matter” is fine…. If the day is full of mishaps it will become a legendary day in years to come…. I have learned to dance in the rain so I took the photo despite all not being perfect…..and the photo is not all I wanted it to be…but it gives me the excuse to go back again to….. persevere and overcome? no … just to enjoy another day doing what I love….. just wandering…. and taking photos...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.