Action Time Vision

By ATV

Books

Present reads.

Mine and Child #1's as they were both just sitting beside me.

The Potter one is C.#1's. She wants to read it before the film(s) come out. I think they are making two films out of to diminish the actors' ever more obvious age issue.

Potter fans may be able to confirm or clarify that.

The 'Floyd tomb is my current read and a return to music history which I have immersed myself in since a lad regardless of whether I like the act concerned or not.

Music is art and like everything else is subjective and subject to fashion trends.

Sometimes acts follow trends and fashion at which point it becomes completely meaningless.

Some acts transcend styles and genres and suffer for it due to lazy journalism and a narrow minded media.

You can look at eras and clearly see the historically influential acts and see those influences in the decades to follow.

Some acts are able to take different styles and combine them to produce something uniquely new rather than just regurgitate trends.

Pink Floyd are such an act. Their early music has clear hints of jazz, blues and garage to mention but a few obvious influences but they are unique.

It's timeless.

I'm not a massive Floyd fan. In fact I'm not really a true fan much at all. I don't own anything pre-Wish You Were Here and apres-Final Cut so probably I'm what could be considered a Waters-Floyd fan although his solo material was very disappointing after his Floyd meltdown.

Much as The Wall is the Floyd album the man in the street will know best it is absolute genius bordering on lunacy. Headphones essential.

The Final Cut contains my favourite guitar solo during the Fletcher Memorial Home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.