Plus ça change...

By SooB

Strangers

My chance at the When You're a Stranger project arrived yesterday in the shape of a black and white snappy camera forwarded by monochrome. Since the journey from Edinburgh had taken a while (post round here is notoriously slow, especially when the sun shines!) I felt it beholden on me to take my shot quickly and get the camera off on the next stage of its journey. So, I was girding my loins and practising some French phrases this morning ready for a trip into town looking for strangers when CarbBoy arrived breathless in the living room saying "There's a stranger outside whose Granny used to live here". Perfect!

So here are my 'strangers' - two for the price of one. Sara's late husband's grandmother owned this house and raised her family here. They were full of stories of how the house used to be, the nannies who looked after the children and Madame's roll in the Resistance. Sadly they only had time for a very quick visit but we have swapped email addresses and will hopefully be able to stay in touch - I would love to find out more about the history of the house and, particularly, the last Englishwoman to live here - about whom I have heard many stories from locals and even the notaire who sold us the house (I realised I forgot to mention that to Sara - hopefully she will read this as the notaire was very impressed by the woman he called 'Madame La Juge' saying she was a formidable lady).

So, a brief but very interesting visit though, tied up as I was in reviewing a contract, I didn't even think to offer them a proper tour (probably just as well given the current state of the place!) And thank you very much to them for being my 'strangers'.

I am keen to pass the camera on as quickly as possible and wondered if there is anyone in France who would like it? I'm off to the Post Office this afternoon and could send it on straight away if anyone is interested...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.