PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

All the better to hear you with

I found out today that I am allowed to walk around the zoo grounds after hours since I live on site! Why have I not discovered this sooner? Given that my lunch breaks are too short to get in the zoo I went for a leisurely stroll round the African Savannah this afternoon. So lovely and peaceful - just me and the animals :)

This is an African Painted Dog - Lycaon pictus.
African Painted Dogs live in packs of 30 or more. Only the dominant male and female breed, however, the whole pack takes care of the young. Adults regurgitate their food for the pups to eat until their hunting skills develop by about 12 months. Once widespread across Africa, they are now reduced to small, scattered populations. African Painted Dogs are killed by farmers and rangers because they are thought to kill livestock. Painted Dogs also suffer from habitat loss and diseases from domestic dogs and as a result they are endangered in the wild.

Perth Zoo contributes to the conservation of wild populations by supporting Painted Dog Conservation Inc and its efforts to protect this species in the wild. I'm also hoping to see these guys at a few conservation places in Namibia next months and maybe some in the wild if I'm really lucky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.