Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

At last, the truth can be told...

Yes, I can today reveal the reason why Cliff Richard never married. In this book, inscribed "To Susan & Jane (my big sisters) Xmas 1962", Cliff wrote an article entitled "The girl that I marry", and these are some of the things he said:

"There's no doubt that boys consider grooming and good manners more important than downright prettiness."

"I can't stand girls who smoke too much, drink too much, and use bad language. Too often a girl is smart intellectually, and yet stupid socially."

"Most boys agree that you shouldn't go any further with any girl than you would want your wife to have gone with someone else. When you find the girl you want to marry, you want to go through these experiences for the first time with her."

"I want a wife who knows how to cook and keep house, more than just a popularity queen. Any boy who says domestication is of no importance, wants his brains tested. A career type of wife wouldn't interest me in the least. The girl I marry must want a normal family life with children.

Sue Barker never stood a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.