horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Sometimes it all works out...

I've been after this bag for a while. I'd seen it online for £75, but all the places at that price didn't have it in stock. The places that had it for £80 didn't have free postage, so it was really bumping the price up on what I knew I could potentially get it for.

So I wandered along to Tiso today (bumping into Boabfoto and Monochrome on the way looking shifty down an alleyway) and, as with previous trips, they had the sizes on either side in stock, but not the one I wanted. The smaller version was £70, and as I was considering it instead a bloke came along changing all of the prices. Suddenly the small one became £80. So I wandered back out again...

On the off-chance I went into Blacks, and lo and behold they had two of the bags I was after. One stuffed to show the size, another unstuffed. The Stuffed one had an £80 price tag on it, so Ifigured I'd just get it, so obviously grabbed the unstuffed one to take to the till, whereupon I realised its tag said £74.99. So when the till came up with the higher price I naturally pointed out the lower price tag and immediately got a fiver off on the till.

Woo hoo!

On the way I crossed Charlotte Square, and you may remember this ranty blip, well today I noticed these signs up.

So a 20mph restriction for pedestrian safety. Erm. Why not put up a temporary set of traffic lights to provide a safe crossing (much like the temporary lights that became permanent on Melville Street when all the traffic was being diverted that way) because I'll tell you how many drivers will be sticking to that 20mph limit. Precisely none. As was certainly the case this lunchtime.

But we couldn't be holding the poor drivers up just because some pedestrians would like to cross the road could we...?

Ah well.

Saw a nice Brazilian on the way back to the office...

Plans for a nice little Blip challenge for myself for the rest of the month will be revealed tomorrow. I'll bet you can't wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.