Two Bands

15.8C with thick grey clouds and one or two spots or rain in the morning.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our walk before lunch today. I had to be in this afternoon for the annual maintenance visit for the house alarm. Despite the cloud it wasn't too dull. As we walked down the bridle path there were a few spots of rain but it stopped before we got to the beach.

The tide was out. 'ValhallaVI' was out at sea. I could see the dingy at the mooring at the outer end of the channel through the rocks. 'Shamara II' is back out of the water and up by the Fishermen's huts. There is a huge plastic tank of water sitting at the stern with the outboard motor's propellor submerged in it. Engine repairs and tests I think. Further problems following the recent capsizing.

As Maeve and I wandered along the damp sand today I looked for some more bits of plain pot for the top of some outside plant pots. Little bits of sea worn brick are good too. I also picked up some small pieces of Sea Glass. Small enough to fit through the top of a nice clear glass bottle that Apothecary7 and I have decided to fill with Sea Glass. I expect this will take quite some time and hopefully we can get glass from different places to put in our bottle. I'd like some of it to be coloured.

Amongst my small finds was this small piece of pot. It is about 1cm in length and has two indented bands of colour. Blipped on some old corrugated iron that came off one of the hut roofs last summer and which is now kept at the back of the beach to put under the wheels of the red tractor on the odd occasion it struggles to get up off the beach through deep dry sand.

After lunch I mowed the front lawn. The alarm engineer came mid afternoon. The alarm got a new backup battery and the bell box got a bright new logo sticker. The people we bought the house from had the alarm installed. With the new sticker on the box it looks brand new again :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.