The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Flying Dragon

I had a busy day today, first to work for a while to get more things sorted for Tuesday, then to visit my lovely friend who is recovering from surgery,
By the time I came to even think about my blip it was gone half past 3!
So I decided to take the bull by the horns so to speak and go to the nearest nature reserve and just see what I could come up with.
My local nature reserve has some nice dipping ponds, and a large millpond so with this in mind I took my camera with the 90 - 300mm lens jammed on it, hopeful of getting some pics of flying dragons,
I wasn't disappointed as this beautiful male Southern Hawker Aeshna cyanea, was patrolling the smallest (nearly dried up) dipping pond.
I spent a pleasant hour sitting by the pond happily snapping away.
I have to say this is not an easy subject and I find the best technique is to hand hold and 'pan' the dragon in manual focus taking shots whenever you can. After a while you do feel quite dizzy, and the deletion rate is huge!!
The Southern hawker is the hawker most frequently seen in these parts, and I am sure you will agree a real beauty

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.