Chiara

By Chiara

Eli

I spent the day feeding one of my addictions: Law & Order: SVU. I really wish Det. Olivia Benson, Det. Elliott Stabler, Det. Fin Tutuola, D.A. Casey Novak, and Dr. George Hung were real people so I could be best friends with them.

This mural caught my eye when I was walking around the neighborhood. The kids are signing "Welcome to Cesar Chavez School" and the rest of the building has individual pictures of hands signing the alphabet. I looked up this school online and I found out that they have a deaf education program. Still, I have never seen a public school (even with a deaf ed program) embrace sign language and the deaf culture like that. Even though I was never part of deaf education, I was still put off by how most public schools would hide their deaf students by stuffing them into an annex somewhere in the back of the school.

Don't even get me started on the piss-poor quality of deaf education. I'm so glad that people like my sister aspire to teach deaf children because I'm confident that they will actually have faith in their students, which is something I cannot say about a lot of deaf ed teachers out there.

I digress. Seeing that kind of made my day. I'm so happy for the deaf students at that school. Something tells me they're well taken care of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.