Sandsend Seascape

It was my brothers 60th birthday yesterday and his choice for the day was to see heather on the North York Moors and then visit Whitby. Well unfortunately the heather is almost over, so there was only a hint of pink on the moors and the light was very flat as it had been raining.

My mum always likes Sandsend (I think my brother does too though he doesn't say much) and I managed to find a parking place not far from the sea so we could have a walk on the beach.

I loved this blue/grey light on the sea (it wasn't as cold as it looks) and the silhouettes of people in the sea.

The abbey in Whitby was next stop on our itinerary (the tea-rooms) followed by a walk through the town ( a walk back up the hill for Ann and I to collect the car and to move it down to the harbourside car-park). We finally ended up eating fish and chips at `The Fisherman's Wife' seafood restaurant which looks out over the sea and down the coast to Sandsend. It was excellent and the young women serving were delightful. I know `The Magpie' is the restaurant with the reputation but I suspect that the Fisherman's Wife is a better choice. (Our only experience of The Magpie is buying fish and chips to take out and they were expensive and very poor!)

We were back home just after nine and as I'd done most of the driving I was ready to crash last night - so no blip until this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.