EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

Practice!

Coming home from the doctor this afternoon, we saw this scene and I drove around the block to get back to the entrance to the parking lot. When we went by the cheerleaders were waving purple flags but by the time we got back the flags were all in a heap!

This is the Stephen F. Austin University Marching Band gearing up for another great year!!

Some of you may have seen them in London in January, as they led the New Year's Day Parade there.

When the Queen extended the invitation to them, she sent a personal representative to make it official.

Back in the fifties there was an elderly lady, a music teacher and friend to all, including my mother, who was fascinated by the young Queen and kept an enormous scrapbook of full-size newspaper pages related to her. My mother ended up becoming heir to the scrapbook. She thought the Queen would be interested that this came from a small town in East Texas, so when Mom heard that the Queen's personal representative would be visiting the University, she arranged to present it to him. Who knows if the Queen herself will ever see it, but it definitely created quite an impression with the SFA Band Director and with Her Majesty's representative.

The photo was taken with the new 14-150 zoom lens that I am liking just fine so far. The only problem was that I could not see anything on the screen because of the sun. Now I understand better why folks pay extra for the EVF attachment. My SuperZoom does have an EVF but I didn't have time to switch cameras and take more pictures.

I left it as is SOOC because I rather liked the bikes parked to one side and the canteens and thermoses scattered about along with the instrument cases. I hope you can still see the details. It was a fun picture for me and my Mom.

Oh. I tried the Canon lens adapter I got and it works just fine but the lenses become manual focus. It turns out I have 3 Canon lenses: 28-105, 18-55 and a 50mm prime lens. I used to have a 75-300 telephoto but don't any more. I probably won't use them much but it is nice to have the adapter.

There have been so many breathtaking shots from my subscribees the last couple of days! You all deserve 5*s!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.