Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

More about the Gumnut Babies.

Continuing on yesterdays theme, I am choosing for today's blip a collage to show you the contents of the hollow in a split into two trunks of a massive gum (eucalypt) tree. On the ground, much to my enchantment, I saw a freshly fallen cap with its fringe of stamen drenched in fresh sunshine, it no doubt stripped from the tree by a heavy fall of afternoon rain earlier, followed by a splattering of hail.

Blippers who don't know what I am talking about, I blipped gumnuts yesterday and included a link to a news item about the creator of the stories by May Gibbs. I hope you look and google for some images of the characters ... and take our gumnuts babies into your heart.

The contents of the hollow show a range of the natural wonders that inspired the range of garments and hats May Gibbs drew for the babies whose stories she told...but of course as children of nature, cherub-like, Snugglepot and Cuddlepie are drawn in their altogether, coyly mind you. So sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.