Killean Croft, Lismore

In the Gigha Gallery at the moment there is an exhibition -amazingly I am told her first - by Gilly B who is an artist and illustrator living on Lismore.

Her pictures and structures (as this one must be called) have humour, narrative ,sharp observation, a passion for the land and a slight sinister edge. They are also redolent of the island community in which she lives and of similar communities on the west coast yet there is an almost east European cast to some of it.

I could have happily taken half a dozen of them home (she shares my fascination for snow too) but the fact I am blipping this today indicates that one - this one -is now in my study. It is hard to do it justice though for it is actually in three dimensions and enclosed in a beautiful small wooden box made of parts of wine cases.

Where I shall finally put it, I don't know. But it is for Cathleen to decide anyway, as it was a present for her - another island woman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.