Stop the war!

Around 100 people gathered at the Haymarket in Norwich today to attend a rally called by the Stop the War Coalition, one of many being held up and down the country.

Whilst everyone present were relieved that the House of Commons had voted against making an attack on Syria, they were concerned and angry that millions of pounds are being spent on warfare whilst the budget for welfare is being cut to the bone.

There were speakers from the local Labour Party, the Green Party, CND, the Quakers, Stop the War Coalition and others. There were young people, families, people new to campaigning and people who had been campaigning for years. Like this chap. We had a long chat about this, that and the other and he was happy for me to take a photo of him and his many campaign badges.

I was so pleased with this that as I was moving forward to show him the photo I stumbled over a low piece of 'street sculpture' (it's kind of a marble egg - just above ankle height) and went sprawling. Thankfully my camera wasn't damaged and neither was I. It gave the dozen or so people watching a bit of a shock though.

And I was wearing shorts. Thank god.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.