Swallow

One of my favorite blipspots is the North Chagrin Reservation. It is a great place to hike, if hiking is your goal; however, if blipping is your goal, the boardwalk across the wetland is the place to be...except in recent weeks. Through the month of July, the wetland became dryer and dryer. Fewer and fewer herons and other wildlife showed up for blippertunities.

This morning, it was as low as I have ever seen it, almost devoid of water. Even the mud was drying up. Finally I found out why. They had intentionally drained it to repair some of the "plumbing" that keeps the wetland wet. I didn't get all the details, but I heard what I hoped to hear. A conservation crew was at work, and the supervisor said they plan to refill it with water...after today. Hallelujah!

Today I "captured" this barn swallow, some ducks that were having a hard time swimming and finding food, and a few water lilies and black-eyed susans. I hope to find great blue herons and green herons, and other water-loving creatures when I return next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.