AnyOldIron

By AnyOldIron

Stanley Ghyll Falls

Day 6: On which I feared all my loved ones were lost, dashed against the rocks of a raging, torrential waterfall.

A fun trip out on the very cute Ravenglass to Eskdale Railway. When we got to the end of the line we trekked up the side of the beautiful Stanley Ghyll waterfall. I made it only as far as the third bridge, where a sign warning of danger ahead gave me the now familiar wobbly legs of impending doom and I decided to sit out the trip to the top. I watched somewhat tearfully as all of my loved ones disappeared up the very narrow, very slippery path which seemed to lead vertically upwards towards disaster. Thankfully, they all made it safely back down some minutes later telling tall tales of the heavenly beauty of the waterfall that I had missed by being so unforgivably wussy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.