Helena and Arvin

Arvin and Helena came downtown with me this morning so I could paint in the eighth annual Bellingham Plein Air Paint Out or PAPO. I was one of a group of artists painting along Holly Street, the main east-west downtown street of Bellingham. This event is intended to highlight the importance of the arts to the city, and to encourage leaving space for artists studios and art galleries as the waterfront area and the downtown grow and flourish.

Helena and Arvin headed off to the Farmer's Market to buy yummy peaches and nectarines from Eastern Washington while I set up and painted. I was near three other artists and enjoyed talking with them while we all worked. People came by to ask why there were so many artists downtown this morning. We all explained that this was the eighth annual PAPO and explained what we were doing and why.

I painted quickly and when I finished my painting I walked around nearby to photograph some of the painters at work. You can see my painting and other painters here on Chaikins of Bellingham.

Everybody who was painting, whatever their medium, was painting 8X10 inch paintings. They have to turn in the paintings to Mindport Gallery before the end of the day. The complete paintings will dry and then be framed by Fourth Corner Frames and shown at the Mindport Gallery on September 19th. The opening will be from 6 to 8 pm.

Arvin and Helena met me at Mindport as I came to turn in my completed painting. Mine was the second to be complete. Then we walked across the street to my new favorite lunch spot. It is called Goat Mountain Pizza and it makes the yummiest pizza. The crust is unique and oh so delicious. My blip photo is Helena and Arvin sitting outside with me waiting for our pizza to be brought out to us. More detail in the large version. We had a wonderful day together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.