Journey Through Time

By Sue

Government Island Fire (Portland, Oregon)

On August 19th, a brush fire broke out on Government Island, the island that the I-205 bridge is built partially on, and caused some problems. I was talking to my aunt on the phone when she said she smelled smoke and it was really strong. The smoke was blowing towards her direction. I looked out my front door and I could see smoke to the south and quickly went to the computer to our locals news station where I saw that there was, indeed, a big fire. It burned about 1 and 1/2 acres and caused some traffic problems on the bridge. Firemen had to get to the island, but they got it under control and it was all out soon enough. But the land is scarred and I was able to see it today, as Bill was driving and I remembered to look it over as best as I could while in the car. (It was either this photo or another bee on a flower...so, went with the landscape. )

Bill and I got auntie today and Bill helped her with a brief yard project and then we brought her to our place, had lunch, left Bill and then she and I went shopping for shrubs for her yard. It would have been fun, except the weather turned hot and it was very uncomfortable being out and about in the sun for us. We cut the shopping short and headed back to the A/C! Our son showed up and I fixed chicken Caesar Salad, which really tasted refreshing on a warm day. We watched some of the TV shows we wanted to see and then it was time to return her to her place and our son went on to maybe meet up with his friend.

So....another busy Saturday and I better get to bed. Hope those who celebrate are having a fun Labor Day weekend. See ya.

PS I was going to tell you that 3 men have died on Mt. Hood, that benign looking mountain in the background, this year. An experienced man fell trying to climb to the top, and two young men went into areas that proved to be dangerous which led to their deaths. It's very sad that this mountain claims so many lives, but it does.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.