2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Waiting game

I waited all day for the email from the USA that will tell me whether the big project I've been working on for months has met with their approval. I waited patiently all morning, knowing that with the time difference it was likely to be the afternoon before I heard anything. After lunch, and as the afternoon wore on, I was getting more and more jumpy and reluctant to leave my desk.

Finally at 5.30, we had to wonder if it was going to come in at all. There's a bank holiday in the USA on Monday too, so we may be waiting for even longer.

I headed home and checked my work email several times on the delayed train. I met up with the lovely L and lots of former colleagues for a farewell meal. L is moving to Bristol to take up a new job and will be missed. Just as we were about to leave the pub and go on to get some food, I noticed a missed call from a work colleague and wondered if the email from the US had come in at last. Unfortunately not, they were just as jumpy as me.

Had a nice evening catching up and enjoying food at Tampopo. These are my corn fritters.

Not sure if I will be able to cope with the stress of waiting for this bloomin' email until Tuesday.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.