surely you can see

By petergarver

These are my parents at lunch today, at the Szechuan Garden, a restaurant that we used to eat at very frequently when I was a kid. This picture is almost an impossibility - my parents, ten years broken up (but on good terms now), eating there with me, in perfect light, and I had a lens wide enough to actually get this shot (2 days ago, I did not).

The stars aligned, and I'm just going to enjoy it. The pictures I got today mean a lot more to me than any of my quests for better composition, a better understanding of what photography means, or anything else. This is basically what I'm in it for.

I messed up a bit on the composition - would have loved a little more room to the right of my dad (although I may have cropped tight there to keep the waitress out of the frame, in which case I did the best I could). As for why I chose this shot out of all of them, well...I just did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.