Truly

By Truly

The only photo I took today. Strange, but true.

A lovely day. A sad day.

My Boy goes back to boarding school tomorrow. He keeps telling me not to fret, that he'll be home in three weeks for his exeat. He is all packed and clearly looking forward to seeing friends and being part of the fast pace routine that is school life once again. I know these breath-stopping feelings of loss are all my own, of my own making - yet, to me at least, they are so very real. I want him to grow, to be independent, self-confident and fearless, I really do. But I miss the little boy who would slip his hand into mine and wrap his fingers tightly around my own. It seems as if the last fifteen years have passed by in the blink of an eye. Then I take a deep breath, blink back the tears and look at my darling boy - and I know that I must have done something right along the way, because he is turning into a very fine young man and I am so very proud of him.

My beautiful Kuifje has been looking after me, and my comedy-bandaged thumb, with good humour and fortitude all weekend. Although I think she is secretly delighted to be going back to work tomorrow - she needs a rest from opening lids and tying shoelaces.

On the upside no more incomprehensible Eminem and Wotski for a few weeks, but I will miss the random ukelele practicing even if the neighbours won't!!

All things considered - Life is good...x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.