Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Out standing in her field

If I were a bird, I’d want to live on Sauvie Island. It has everything – farmland, river, wetlands, forest, fields, berries, flowers, fruit trees, corn fields. And not a lot of people or traffic, except on weekends and during pumpkin season. Lots of bicyclists though. It's about ten miles from downtown Portland.

Laurie and I went blueberry picking on the island this morning –well, she did most of the picking and I went exploring and shooting; such a photogenic place! I told her on the way I had an itchy shutter finger. There are some beautiful farms and U-pick fields, some over-the-top farm-ertainment spots (corn mazes, petting zoo, pumpkin patch, hay rides, etc.). As I drove by a beautiful open field I spotted this heron and thought it was a metal sculpture – then it moved. I turned the car around, put the zoom lens on and fired off some shots. Have a large look.

Laurie was still picking when I returned. I managed to get my walker down to the field and picked about 5 pounds to add to the bounty (almost 25 pounds total). The bushes were heavy with ripe berries and they practically fell into the buckets.

It was a good day.

I uploaded more to a Flickr set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.