PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Punk Rocker - Cassowary style

This is one of two of the zoo's juvenile Southern Cassowary (Casuarius casuarius) chicks. This is the first time I've managed to get down to see them and tomorrow they are both heading off to separate institutions across Australia as part of the Australasian captive breeding program for this endangered species.

How cute is he?! You can see the beautiful vibrant blue starting to come though around his face - just stunning! Shame I didn't get down to visit earlier... as it was I only spent about 15 mins with them during my lunch break before I had to race back to the vet department.

Soooooo much to do!! Not packed yet and I fly out tomorrow night, after working all day tomorrow. So must get going. No time to look at all your wonderful journals :( But will try and catch up a little tomorrow night at the airport - I'll at least leave lots of stars if I don't have time to comment!

I'm so overwhelmed at the wonderful comments, stars and hearts for Katan, the red panda yesterday. He managed to make the spotlight page for a bit :) So completely unexpected and I don't have the time to thank you all individually, so please except my greatest heartfelt thanks now :) You guys all rock!!!

Now.... back to packing.....!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.