Combi31

By Combi31

Wasp Spider

There is a warning in there for those that are not keen on spiders.

Edit (thank you to a fellow blipper - Jeanettie6 for the info) : wasp spider (Argiope bruennichi) is a species of orb-web spider distributed throughout central Europe, northern Europe, north Africa, parts of Asia and in the Azores archipelago.[1] Like many other members of the genus Argiope, (including St Andrew's Cross spiders), it shows striking yellow and black markings on its abdomen.
The spider builds a spiral orb web at dawn or dusk, commonly in long grass a little above ground level, taking it approximately an hour. The prominent zigzag shape called the stabilimentum, or web decoration, featured at the centre of the orb is of uncertain function, though it may be to attract insects.


Female Wasp Spider attacks hover fly caught in web
When a prey item is first caught in the web, Argiope bruennichi will quickly immobilise its prey by wrapping it in silk. The prey is then bitten and then injected with a paralysing venom and a protein dissolving enzyme.
The male of the species is much smaller than the female. It can often be seen in or near a female's web waiting for her to complete her final moult, at which time she reaches sexual maturity. At this time her chelicerae (jaws) will be soft for a short time and the male may mate with the female without the danger of being eaten. Wiki

See more detail here

Down at the lakes today - watching kingfishers and the beautiful young grebe from yesterday - it was slightly less warm, but I managed only 40 minutes in the sun - loving this beautiful weather.

We are now entering what is usually the best season down here - September and October is usually very warm, with cooler mornings and evenings.

I've come to the conclusion that I am accident prone ...

I went on my motorbike today, was parking up at the water's edge (not too close though ...) I put the side-stand down, lent the weight of the bike on it and got off, the stand skidded away on some gravel and fell flat on its side.

I tried lifting it, to no avail and had to call the emergency services in the guise of honourable sons N°1 & N°2 who came down on their bikes and we righted it with ease - thanks guys!

I was staking out the osprey that I thought I saw yesterday - but I didn't see it, unfortunately and I am beginning to wonder if it really was an osprey after all.
That said, I will go back every day to check on that.

So here is, what I think is a yellow and black garden spider - which seems a reasonable proposition, as it was (a) In my garden and (b) it is yellow and black ... good job I did my Phd. in the bleedin' obvious innit!

Took the dogs out the back of the house - they were about 5 meters from a pair of red deer, although Norman the Jack Russell was more interested in rolling in something that smells like Hermès for dogs, but to our untrained nostrils smells like cack - Scooby was fascinated at Norman's perfume knowledge and they didn't notice the deer, who just ambled off into the forest.
Did I see a disappointed look on the deer's face or was that my imagination?

Norman has since had a shower - not alone, he was showered ...

I also saw a huge snake, that sloped off into the grass before I was able to get a shot of it.

I hope you have had a nice beginning to the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.