Combi31

By Combi31

Great Blue Heron

It was a bit of a heron-A-Thon tonight at the lakes - there were six of these in a dead tree and 4 purple herons in the next tree to it - some conference I imagine.

See more detail here.

Had a lovely day - it's my birthday and I had a stack of emails with various permutations of my name and initials and my company website, from an old colleague who I haven't seen for 7 years and we are meeting for lunch tomorrow.

Still no sign of the ospreys, but I think I will be up early tomorrow morning to check out the other lakes ... there are 12 of them, so if they are here, they could be anywhere.
Personally I think it is too hot for them to be here already - 33°c at 7pm tonight, but who knows...

I also caught sight of that elusive hoopoe - got a shot, but it is so seriously cropped that it makes no sense to blip it.

Just getting ready for a birthday meal with the family - my fave magret de canard aux figues, pommes périgourdines (with cèpes Pennybun), a nice bottle of Nuits St Georges and blackberry and apple crumble for dessert (my mother used to make this ... to die for, so Mrs Combi is putting the bar high).

I'm just off for an apéro so see you later ...

I hope your Tuesday is and has been good - as I always remember this was the day that Great Britain declared war on Nazi Germany in 1939 and also the day that I used to have to go back to school on ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.