Sydney

By Sydney

Antidote for grumpy

I was really grumpy when I woke up this morning. Disturbing dreams, not sure why. Went to pick up P this morning to help him get ready for school starting tomorrow and I wasn't feeling in a mood to finesse his participation. I kind of had a plan and wanted him to fall into step with the rhythm I was going to set...

My tone was tense and highly directive, I could feel my clipped sentences, I was looking for compliance to motor through what we needed to accomplish. Standing there in the sunlight filtering through the disreputably filthy windows I have neglected too long, he moved to the couch, sat down, threw his head back and began to laugh. At me. At my plan. At the tension I was spilling all over this beautiful morning. He said, "More. Again" acknowledging that whatever game I was playing with this different tone of voice and semi-irritated attitude he thought it was hilarious and wanted me to continue. I was no longer "in charge" anymore but rather was now starring in a skit in which I was playing this unappealing characterization of myself. And he was right on the money, I was taking things too seriously and letting the gray clouds of a couple of things darken all of my morning's sky. He's such a smartie!

I relearned 2 things today
1. Lighten up and calm down
2. I need to wash the windows!

He is such a good antidote for the blues :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.