Still Here

I had a vision of what tonight's blip was going to be. Unfortunately I just couldn't achieve it. More homework to be done on that aspect of photography - maybe to celebrate my fourth year.

Anyway...

Three years! And achieved without missing a day. Phew. This is a point I never really contemplated reaching when I started out. The intent was to aim for one year, and spend that year learning what really constituted a photo and how to take them. I’d just bought my very first dslr and I had no idea what to do with it!

After 3 years I’ve learnt a lot, but now realise that there is no end to this journey. There is just so much more to learn! But I would never have got this far down the road without blip – that goal to get my camera out every day and share an image from that day. Some days I am happy to just settle for creating an image I can live with, other days I strive to improve on what I've already done. Both days can be satisfying in their own way but I’m happier if I've striven for something ‘more’.

The truth is though, that none of this journey would have occurred if it hadn't been for you blippers – your advice, encouragement and just plain existence have enriched my days and my photography. Seeing what some of you create always gives me something higher to aim for. So THANK YOU to each of you whose journals have touched my life in anyway.

And THANK YOU to Blip Central who make it all possible.

If you’re interested, my personal top ten from this 3 years are:

Wharariki
My first time ever seeing a whale
Learning how to use my macro lens
Christchurch post earthquake - New beginnings
A pretty accident
An early webby drip or drippy web
Praise to the Sun God
My special grandson
The one I was most excited to take
The one you all liked the best (after the whale)

You’ll note that only one of these is a bird. When I went back through my 3 years of blips the majority of my ‘favourites’ (and there were initially about 50 of them) were birds. I had to be strong with myself!

Gotta go and eat my chocolate muffin - even though I actually bought it yesterday and it's no longer the freshest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.